Manage projects

The Pinecone console is a web-based interface that allows you to:

  • Create and delete Pinecone projects
  • Create, monitor, update, share, and delete your indexes
  • Create, update, copy, and delete your API keys
  • Insert, manage, and query data in an index

The console also contains:

  • Example data you can use for creating your first index
  • Billing information

screenshot of the console

info

When you sign up for Pinecone, we'll create a default project for you. It'll be called {your name}'s default project. We'll also create an API key for your project.

Sharing the project with other users

You can invite another Pinecone user to join your project.

A single user can be part of multiple Pinecone projects. Although Free tier users can only create a single project, they can be invited by another user to join other projects.

info

Invited users can see and use API keys, but they cannot create or delete keys. They also can't invite or delete additional users; only the owner can do that.

Adding users to a project

To invite another Pinecone user to join your project:

  1. Click Users. This is located on the left navigation bar.
    The "Share with Other Users" dialog displays.
  2. Enter the email address of the person to want to invite to join the project.
  3. Click the + Invite User button.
    A dialog displays confirming the person has been invited to this project. Pinecone sends them an email containing a link that enables them to gain access to the console. If they already have a Pinecone account, they will still receive an email, but they will also be immediately able to view the project, even if they don't click the link in the email.

Removing users from a project

Project owners can remove users after they have been added to the project:

  1. Click Users. This is located on the left navigation bar.
    The "Share with Other Users" dialog displays.
  2. In the users list, click the trash icon next to the name of the user who you want to remove from the project. Pinecone removes the user from the project.

Viewing another user's project

To view another user's project, you must have:

  • Received an invitation email inviting you to join the project
  • Created a Pinecone account (the invititation email will contain a link for you to do this)

screenshot of the my projects button

To view another user's project, from the console:

  1. Click the "{project name}'s project" button. This is located on the top navigation bar. The dropdown menu displays.
  2. Select the name of the project you want to view. The console displays the project.

Viewing users with access to your project

To view the Pinecone users with access to your project:

  1. Click Users. This is located on the left navigation bar.
    The "Share with Other Users" dialog displays. It contains a list of users with access to the project.
  2. Click the Cancel button to return to the console.

Creating a new project

info

Free tier users can only have 1 owned project. To create a new project, Free tier users must upgrade to the standard tier, or delete their current project.

screenshot of the my projects button

To create a new project:

  1. Click the "{project name}'s project" button. This is located on the top navigation bar. The dropdown menu displays.
  2. Click Create New. The "Create New Project" dialog displays.
  3. Enter a name in the "Project Name field".
  4. Select an environment, if this option is avaiable.

    info

    Pinecone is deployed in the GCP us-west1 US West (Oregon) region. Contact us if you need a dedicated deployment in other regions. We currently support AWS and GCP.

  5. Click the + CREATE PROJECT button. Pinecone creates the new project, and the "Project created successfully" dialog displays.

Deleting your project

warning

All your indexes within the project data will be permanently deleted. This is final and unrecoverable.

To delete your Pinecone project:

  1. Click Delete. This is located on the left navigation bar.
  2. The "Confirm Project Deletion" dialog displays.
  3. Enter the project's name in the "Enter Project Name" field. Alternatively, click the CANCEL button to cancel the deletion.
  4. Click the CONFIRM DELETE button. Pinecone deletes your project. The "Create New Project" dialog displays. See: Creating a new project.